

# Top start list promises an exciting Deutschland Tour 2022

Two weeks before the start of the Deutschland Tour, the 20 teams announced their provisional starters. Led by the defending winner and German champion Nils Politt, BORA - hansgrohe will enter their home race with several leaders. This year's stage profiles also suit Maximilian Schachmann, third overall in 2018, and Lennard Kämna.

Right at the start of the Deutschland Tour on August 24<sup>th</sup>, one jersey will catch the eye: with Filippo Ganna (INEOS Grenadiers), the ITT world champion will start the races first ever prologue. A look at the competition shows that the switch from the rainbow jersey to the red leader jersey won't go without a fight. With a length of only 2.6 kilometers, the lap through the cultural city of Weimar is a matter for the fast riders. Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), winner of the opening time trial of this year's Tour de France, national champions like Bauke Mollema (Trek - Segafredo) and the powerful sprinters will give their best.

With Le Tour stage winner Fabio Jakobsen (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal), Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates) and Olav Kooij (Jumbo-Visma), the international elite of fast men meets the German sprinters around Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain-Victorious), Rick Zabel (Israel - Premier Tech) and Max Kanter (Movistar Team). Alexander Kristoff (Intermaché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux) will want to use his preference for German races again this year to win a stage.

Many teams have adjusted to the varied profile of the Deutschland Tour 2022 with their classics and GC specialists. Romain Bardet (Team DSM), Pello Bilbao (Bahrain-Victorious), Jakob Fuglsang (Israel - Premier Tech), Rafal Majka (UAE Team Emirates) or Ben Tulett (INEOS Grenadiers) are among the riders who will show their qualities on the Schauinsland mountain-top finish – a climb over 12 kilometers. But Simon Geschke (German national team) wants to take his home advantage knowing the routes around Freiburg inside-out. Classic specialists such as Greg Van Avermaet (AG2R Citroën Team) or Kasper Asgreen (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) might use the hilly stage profile for an offensive race, especially on the final day. This also suits Hugo Houle (Israel - Premier Tech). With him, another stage winner of this year's Tour de France will start the Deutschland Tour.

With 40 riders, the German pros make up the largest group in the Deutschland Tour peloton. The list of 120 starters is provisional. All teams can still make changes to their roster over the next two weeks. The final start list will be confirmed on August 24th.

The Deutschland Tour takes place from August 24<sup>th</sup> to 28<sup>th</sup>. Running on five days, the route leads from Weimar and Meiningen in Thuringia to Marburg before the final weekend is held entirely in the southwestern part of Germany. The queen stage starts in Freiburg and ends on the Schauinsland with the first mountain top finish of the Deutschland Tour. The final day runs from Schiltach in the Black Forest to Stuttgart where the overall winner is awarded the red jersey after 710 kilometers of racing.



## **Selected riders Deutschland Tour 2022:**

### **UCI WorldTeams**

AG2R Citroën Team:
Greg Van Avermaet, Felix Gall

Bahrain-Victorious:
Phil Bauhaus, Pello Bilbao, Heinrich Haussler

BORA - hansgrohe:
Lennard Kämna, Nils Politt, Maximilian Schachmann

EF Education - Easypost:
INEOS Grenadiers:
Ruben Guerreiro, Jonas Rutsch
Filippo Ganna, Ben Tulett

Intermaché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux: Alexander Kristoff, Georg Zimmermann
Israel - Premier Tech: Jakob Fuglsang, Hugo Houle, Rick Zabel

Jumbo-Visma: Chris Harper, Olav Kooij
Lotto Soudal: Caleb Ewan, Roger Kluge
Movistar Team: Juri Hollmann, Max Kanter

Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team: Kasper Asgreen, Fabio Jakobsen, Yves Lampaert

Team DSM: Romain Bardet, Nico Denz
Trek - Segafredo: Tony Gallopin, Bauke Mollema
UAE Team Emirates: Fernando Gaviria, Rafal Majka

#### **UCI ProTeams**

Alpecin-Deceuninck: Maurice Ballerstedt, Alexander Krieger
B&B Hotels - KTM: Miguel Heidemann, Sebastian Schönberger

#### **UCI Continental Teams**

Saris Rouvy Sauerland Team: Jon Knolle

Team Dauner | Akkon: Jan-Marc Temmen
Team Lotto - Kern Haus: Jan Hugger

German national team Simon Geschke, Tom Lindner